Misophonia — I have it!

Misophonia, literally “hatred of sound,” is a form of decreased sound tolerance. It is a neurological disorder characterized by negative experiences resulting only from specific sounds, whether loud or soft, and is often used interchangeably with the term Selective Sound Sensitivity.

I knew that I hated gum smacking, really HATED it. I was ready to kill the perpetrator anytime anywhere somebody was cracking that gum.

Being in public–there’s the horror of having to listen to that noise–esp. at the doctor’s office or when I’m stuck in line. I glare, hoping my stare will cause them to explode.

Ka-boom!! That sound I wouldn’t mind.

It’s cool it has a name.

A sensitivity to high-pitched sounds and sounds of eating (which is odd since I love to eat so much).

So if you’re looking for suicide-by-gum–come crack it by me.

I’ll help ya.

UPDATE 12/15:
Well, according to a study done at Northwestern University, you are more likely to have a creative brain if you tend to notice the (gross) sounds of others chewing. Read more at: https://tr.im/oSnb8

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

